Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Urgent - Any help appreciated

Talk about bird illnesses and other bird health related issues. Seeds, pellets, fruits, vegetables and more. Discuss what to feed your birds and in what quantity. Share your recipe ideas.

Urgent - Any help appreciated

Postby Jennypenny » Tue Jun 01, 2021 1:34 pm

Good afternoon All,

I am new to the Parrot Forum. I am writing because my dear little green cheek conure Poppy has been at the vet since last Thursday night (05/27/2021) with an IV for fluids and tube feeding. I came home from work Thursday evening to find Pops severely lethargic on the floor if the room where he lives with my other GCC and my cockatiel. All of the birds are flighted and live cage free (though they put themselves in their cages in the evening when it’s bed time). The birds have lived cage free in this room for about 1year with no issues at all.

Poppy had been fine the day before but uncharacteristically snuggly Thursday morning. He just did not want me to put him down. After I rushed him to the vet Thursday evening, the vet called to say things looked very dire. She put him on oxygen Thursday night through the end of the day Friday. Full bloodwork was done on Friday and the AST was above 2,000 (not a typo), and some test for kidney function was above 20. The first time he passed stool was Monday, 05/31 and the vet said it was only a tiny bit. She is redoing all bloodwork today and will have liver and kidney values later this afternoon. As of today, vet reported that he is still very fluffed on the bottom of his cage but that he is alert and eating a little millet but nothing else. The vet believes Poppy suffered some sort of toxicity. But neither of us know what that could be since I haven’t introduced any new toys or food for over a year.