Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

New to Forum

Place to share personal stories, pictures and videos of your parrot.

New to Forum

Postby Skywriter26 » Mon May 10, 2021 1:17 pm

Hi!
I’m new to the Parrot Forum. I have a Bald-eyed Cockatoo named “London.” He/She is @25+ years old. I took London in after my Mom passed away this year in January. I’m trying to familiarize myself with it. I don’t know if I’ll keep it. First thing is trying to understand everything I can about it, beginning with finding out the sex of the bird. How can I find this out by defining features. Also, need to know why the bird keeps removing its food/water feeders from their holders. Also, it has gradually allowed me to pet it while it’s perched, but has bit me pretty bad while reaching in to collect feeders from the bottom of the cage. London wastes a lot of food by dumping the feeders to bottom of cage. Figured I would leave them down there. Thus, retrieving them is how I got bite. London become VERY aggressive. I continued its regular parrot food diet from Walmart. I’ve added some pellets. It also has bananas, apples, peanuts, kale, and peanut butter. I also have a cat in the house. This is new for London AND the cat! I can’t imagine letting London out the cage; at least, no time in the near future. Would appreciate any advice that may help this transition. Thanks!
Birds of a feather flock together!

~Skywriter
Skywriter26
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Bald eyed Cockatoo
Flight: No

Re: New to Forum

Postby Pajarita » Tue May 11, 2021 11:50 am

Hi, Skywriter and London, welcome to the forum. Now, let me clarify a few points. ALL parrots dump their food and water bowls but cockatoos do it more than other species. This is a natural behavior, part of their ecological niche (they disperse seed and feed ground species) so 'fighting' it is useless, what you have to do is get the kind the locks in place like this one: