Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Chewables instead of actual store-bought toys :)

Share ideas for making your own parrot toys. What are the best things for parrots to play with? Show pictures of parrots with toys.

Chewables instead of actual store-bought toys :)

Postby CaketheParrot » Sun Jun 14, 2020 8:26 pm

Probably everyone already knows this ‘cause I’m pretty new to parrot care, but I’m excited to have realized it all the same! Recently, we’ve discovered through experimentation that Cake the African Gray (who is now named Lurky- grey Lurky was actually my sister who was tired of sharing an account, and she convinced to to change Cake’s name slowly) really doesn’t care about how fancy or official or expensive toys are. Lurky does have a few typical-looking toys she rarely plays with, but she absolutely loves chewing through different materials I’ve dubbed chewables. Old newspapers, cardboard, vine balls, those loose ads from Reader’s Digest, etc We tried paper towels and fabrics, but she prefers crunchy crispy stuff. (We’re keeping her other toys since Lurky does enjoy the ~occasional~ nibble-session). We’re going to keep experimenting until we can have a variety we can switch out to leave with her so she doesn’t get tire of them (as of rn, we hand feed it to her and switch out between the few materials, but after a while she gets tired of the limited variety until the next day).

:gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray: :gray:
Thanks and love from Cake :gray:
CaketheParrot
Lovebird

Number of Birds Owned: 3
Types of Birds Owned: African Gray, Finch, Canary
Flight: Yes

Re: Chewables instead of actual store-bought toys :)

Postby Pajarita » Mon Jun 15, 2020 9:17 am