Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Older bird / new person

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

Older bird / new person

Postby KSilva » Thu Mar 04, 2021 7:02 pm

I am new to a family with a 20 year old parrot who's favorite person passed away a little over 16 months ago. She will step up for me but has a tendency to bite especially if the spouse of the person who passed away is in the room as well. I've been working on acclimating to her over the last two months but don't seem to be making much progress. The training advice seems geared to younger birds. Any advice would be helpful.
KSilva
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 1
Types of Birds Owned: Yellow napped amazon parrot
Flight: Yes

Re: Older bird / new person

Postby Pajarita » Fri Mar 05, 2021 1:47 pm

Welcome to the forum, KSilva, and I am sorry you are having problems with your bird. Now, what you need is not to train your bird but to get it to bond with you. I know that trainers claim that training creates a bond but it doesn't. It can certainly reinforce the bond if the training is done correctly (and that is another issue!) but it does not create it.

All my birds came from somebody else so I have a bit of experience on getting them to bond with me but, in all honesty, I don't really do anything to make them love me except allow them to set the pace, the degree of the relationship and respect them as sentient, highly intelligent beings. I will tell you what I do and you make your decision on what to do yourself.