Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

First time buying a bird

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

First time buying a bird

Postby Evien » Sun Oct 26, 2014 2:11 pm

Hi everyone! I found this website after I was researching about parrots, and this came up as one of the search results. I am relatively new to parrots, and I have a LOT of questions about them.

- What parrot is right for me? I live in an apartment with a teen son and two younger daughters, and a wife, and noise is not that big of a deal for me. I would prefer a parrot that is able to talk, is larger than a budgie, and is affectionate.

- Where to place the parrot's cage?

- What to feed the parrot? I have read so far that they should get a mixture of fruits and vegetables and seeds, but what if they don't like the healthy fruits and vegetables, like some people's parrots?

- How to create a bond between me and the parrot? This is by far the most important question I have, since I want a parrot that loves me, and I want him/her to be comfortable around me. I can give up to three hours a day with the parrot.

- How to clean your parrot and its cage? - How would you go about giving your parrot a bath, and cleaning its cage?

- Things to avoid when you have a parrot? This includes actions that I do, and the like.

Sorry for all the questions I asked, but I want to be ready for a parrot, and I want it to feel right at home with us, and it to love us. Thank you all!
Evien
Parakeet

Number of Birds Owned: 0
Flight: No

Re: First time buying a bird

Postby Lizz » Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:19 am

Welcome to the forum.
I joined the same way while looking for my second Amazon. It took me about 3 months to find the one that needed me the most.