Trained Parrot BlogParrot Wizard Online Parrot Toy StoreThe Parrot Forum

Misbehaving-territorial over laptop keyboard and biting

Discuss the methods and techniques of clicker training, target training and bonding. These are usually the first steps in training a young parrot.

Misbehaving-territorial over laptop keyboard and biting

Postby shiraartain » Sat Oct 18, 2014 4:03 pm

As a college student, I get most of my work done on my laptop. I'd say i spend 50% of the time I play with Fajr not on the laptop (mornings-a few hours together) and the other 50% on the laptop (the time I'm spending with him in parts throughout the day).

He likes to pull out the keys. I can deal with that and keep typing. But if I try to, he will attack and bite my fingers. In some cases he will attack until i pull my fingers away and then climb up to my shoulder and go for my face. If I take the key away from him and put it back in he will bite my hands again. Rather than being angry at the laptop, he's angry with me for daring to go near it.

I had two theories.
1. he wants me to pay attention to him, and not the laptop.
2. he's trying to tell me he's hungry

I tried playing with him, but if the laptop is nearby he will ignore everything and go for the keys. If I open it while he is eating he'll go for it, abandoning his food/sometimes bringing a mouthful with him. I tried providing distractions for him-everything from toys to providing him with a rose branch to chew (Not sure if I ever mentioned this, but at one point in the summer my dad cut a large branch into sections and I baked them all for him (Thank you Wolf!).)

He's strong enough now that his bites can draw blood. I haven't experienced this yet, but he hates my youngest sisters now and bit one's nail to the point of drawing blood (this, I think, is jealousy. He sees us all hug and spoil them all the time. They cry afterwards, more from the emotional hurt of Fajr disliking them than the physical pain.)